Overheard in Paris – A taxicab moment

1.20 am, two days ago, headed home in a taxi. It was raining on Paris and its Alexandre III bridge. “I started this job because I was in love with a taxi driver”, she tells me. “Then we broke up, and I left the job… And then after a while I picked it up again.” She listens to Georges Lang’s Nocturnes. They’re playing Ben Sidran’s Blowin in the Wind. “Georges Lang helps the night along”, she says. We arrive rue Christine. I hand her the fare, but have no desire to leave the car. She turns the engine off, and lets me enjoy the last few seconds, the last few notes…
Ben Sidran – Blowin In The Wind

Leave a Reply

